Controversial · lgbt

I’m Just a Spoilt Privileged Millennial

As much as I hate to admit it, it’s true.
Hey there!

So the other day I made a post regarding Trump’s ban on transgender people joining the military. I had consulted only a few videos, both pro and against and decided that it made more sense to be against the ban. I watched some more after that and still wasn’t swayed. That is until Theryn Meyer rethought her position after watching a video by The Justicar, a military veteran who is very much in favor of Trump’s decision. So I myself went ahead and watched his video and I would also encourage you to do the same if you want to here good arguments in favour of the ban, you know, something other than ‘they’re men who think they’re women!!! They’re mentally ill!! We don’t want pansies in the military!!’

The main point thay swayed me is the part when he said that the way the military assess people involves a heavy use of trends if categories that people belong to. Obviously there will be fit and capable trans people, but the cost of testing on a more individual basis outweighs the benefit of finding the fit transgenders.

Another point he made is that there is no inherent advantage of recruiting transgender people which further limits the benefits.

It’s all about being practical and only pushing for the best and, to be quite honest, if I were in the same position, I would do the same- though I would handle it better than Trump did and lay out my reasons for doing so.

Justicar also addressed the issue of cost and how the military does have a moral obligation to treat those who have been affected by warfare and that would have to include transgender people. He also mentioned the US is still in a lot of debt- how the money we are using on transgender people is not money the US have. I’m not that knowledgeable on money matters so if anyone has any good points for or against the ban in that regard, I’d like them to share it in the comments.

So how I draw this back to me being a spoilt privileged millennial is that I automatically assumed that working in the military is a right, or at least treated it that way. It’s not. No one has an inherent right. I’ve been taught to believe that I can do anything I want, but the truth is I can’t. I’m not talking about ability, I’m talking about rights here. Obviously I know there are some things I cannot phyiscally cannot do.

The military only need the best of the best at the lowest possible cost. They don’t have time to care about people’s feelings. They can’t care about it because there are more pressing things to worry about.

Obviously some people will not agree with my views and I urge those people to prove me wrong, or at least try to. Listening to countering opinions is the best way to learn and grow.

But before you do, please watch Justicar’s video. He obviously words things better than I do. He also seems like a cool dude, literally I subscribed instantly after watching his video. If you want a good opposition video, or even if you agree with the ban, please watch his video.

Thanks for reading and have a good day

~Peanut

Leave a Reply

