femininity · Personal

So the Make-up Arrived…

This is a scheduled post, so I actually wrote this a while ago, but that specific detail’s not so important, hehe. It’s not an urgent post.

So! Make-up! Or make up. Whatever.

I gave it a go!

make up is hard

And I have a lot of thoughts towards it.

So some time ago (actually two days ago from the time of writing this) I went out with my cousin to do some shopping. It’s all part of updating my closet and my overall style. Make-up, does play  large role though.

The stuff I ordered came a day prior, so I used the opportunity to try it out.

I applied eyeliner for the first time in my life. Not the first time I’d worn it, but my first time applying it.

And GOD was it hard. Props to all ladies out there, and dudes too, who wear make-up- well at least liquid eyeliner, because that shit is hard to manoeuvre. I totally underestimated it, and I was sure it was going to be pretty hard in the first place.

Like, how the hell do you manage to not get clumps of eyeliner in your eyelashes?! I need to watch more make-up videos.

My challenge this summer will be to wear make-up every time I go out for a significant amount of time. That includes my work experience so that’ll be a little nerve-wrecking. I wear glasses so I guess it’s okay. It does hide my eyes, which is the main thing really, but that’s besides the point. It’s about applying the make-up, learning, and then getting more comfortable and more used to it and how to manage it.

It’s hard work.

I may be tooting my own horn hear, but I think I did pretty well for my first try, minus the clumps in my eyelashes. I haven’t got a very steady hand and I didn’t know how to hold the wand. I kept getting eyeliner on the side of my face XD

Well, practice will (hopefully) make (somewhat near to) perfect.

So, I went out with only eyeliner and mascara, but at night, before I was about to wipe it all off (a process that took forever) I had the idea to apply the lipstick and eyeshadow. That was when I realised that getting brown shades was a bad idea. I didn’t want it to stand out too much, but, you know, I wanted it to be seen. There was some stuff written on each colour: ‘base’, ‘lid’, ‘crease’ and ‘line’. Maybe that’s directing you to how it is to be used? I don’t know, I need to do my research, but make up videos are kinda boring… (I’m still gonna do the research though)

So with everything on, I put on one of the new wigs I bought. (Yes, I wear wigs, if I haven’t mentioned this before. My hair is like a mini afro and is natural, not relaxed (a process which basically chemically straightens your hair) so I can’t really do much with it. I am planning to go natural once my hair grows out. I cut it short about 3 years ago because of  hair/eczema related issues- NOT because I was non-binary last year. That was actually when I started wearing wigs, oddly enough, and I was already back to braiding my hair prior to my year of being non-binary.

But I digress.

I put the new wig on which is much different to what I normally wear (I have two that are similar to my WordPress avatar, and my twitter avatar (though have in mind I’ll probably change that at some point). This new one is long and is dip died reddish-purple. It is absolutely GORGEOUS and also very far from my usual style. (I also got a brown curly one for professional stuff because I’m sure as hell not going to be able to enter any practical skill classes with read hair (even though my teacher has blue tips, but hey, I’m not bitter about it.)

BUT I DIGRESS.

I PUT THE WIG ON and completed the look and I have to say, I was impressed with what I saw. I took several pictures of myself (yes, I did) because I just had to immortalise this look. I have a passion for recording things which leads to my problem with hoarding whi- no, Peanut, no more tangents.

The point is, I thought I looked great. I had a boost in confidence. And, you know, while the process was long and gruelling (like when I draw) I enjoyed it in a way, and I’m looking forward to finding out tips and tricks, and trying new things, and going as far to really experiment with make-up and make some crazy but cute looks. I’m getting a little ahead of myself, but I’m just eager to use this new outlet to express myself. There’s actually so much potential and I hate that waited this long to really give it a go.

But, you know, disclaimer, make-up’s not for everyone. Thought I’d put it out there, but don’t let the reason you avoid make-up be that it’s associated with gender roles, or that people expect you to do it.

Well, that’s it for this week’s post. Let’s hope I keep this weekly thing going, ne?

Peace.

don't dox me pls

Leave a Reply

